Wasted Youth and Saying “Yes”

Hey, Romantiques, long time no see. I am so sorry for the lack of posts. Between school starting back up, my new position at work, and getting my interning all sorted out, I haven’t had any down time to write. But now that I’ve gotten my life together, I will resume posting regularly.

With that being said, I have decided to somewhat abandon my “days of the week” post structure in favor of posting whatever comes to mind. I’ll still be posting favorites, music, fashion, etc., but it won’t be on such a strict schedule.

Today’s post is brought to you by my 20th birthday, which was on June 19th. It really didn’t dawn on me that I am no longer a teenager until my coworker asked me how old I was the other day, and for some reason the realization made me kind of sad.

Being someone who mostly sticks to the background and is generally too shy to make tons of new friends, I spent most of high school in a sort of quiet solitude, and paired with the fact that I didn’t have anything in common with 95% of the people at my school, I kind of missed out on doing all the crazy things you’re supposed to do in your teen years. I never went to the big group hangouts because all (four) of my friends belonged to different social groups. I hardly ever went to any concerts because nobody liked the same bands I did. I never stayed out late driving around with my friends because I always had too much homework to do, and getting into NYU was my top priority at the time.
I thought I would make up for lost time when I got to college, but being pre-med kind of forced me to put exalting my youth on the back-burner. What I thought would be a period dominated with good times I’d tell my kids about turned into endless nights in my dorm room trying to memorize reaction mechanisms and kinematic equations, which doesn’t leave you much time to go out and make new friends to do fun things with.

But last week, I decided I was throwing my young years away and trying to justify it as “investing in my future,” which was making me seriously unhappy. Upon that realization, I decided now was the time to take back my life. I changed my major (which you can read more about here), bought three concert tickets without having any idea who I’d be going to them with, and paid a long overdue solo visit to one of my favorite “hipster” hangouts by my school to remind myself of who I am and what I like. And it felt so good.

That one week of doing exactly what I love made me realize that how important it is to secure your own happiness. I was so focused on making sure future me would be happy that I neglected present me in the process. Two years have gone by and I still haven’t done everything I planned to do, which is something I know I would regret if I allowed it to continue.

My goal for this upcoming school year is to say “yes”. Yes to hanging out with new people instead of shying away. Yes to going out and doing all the fun things I want to do, even if I have no one to go with. Yes to new opportunities to learn and develop as a person. Yes to being myself.

I guess the point of this post is to remind myself (and whoever is reading this) that it’s so important to make the most of your time in college, and for as long as you can when it’s over, because youth is too precious and irreplaceable to let pass you by.

xoxo,
La Nouvelle Romantique

Leave a Reply

